The Hypocrisy of Christianity.

Christians are the worst.

Woah. Calm down. Read on and see what I’m trying to say.

One of the things I love to do is to make bold claims and then try and start conversations. The trouble with that is some of my bold claims, such as the title of this post, can piss people off and they let their emotions take over. So, I ask you to take your time and be frustrated, pretend your yelling expletives at me, then once you’re done, let’s talk.

Okay, so last week this happened. Sho Baraka, one of the more amazing voices in the hip hop world, his album “The Narrative” was removed from LifeWay Christian stores because it had the word “penis” in it. Here is the context the word was said in:

I was an insecure boy who just thought he was a genius
But always pissed off, that’s because I thought with my penis
It’s all strategic, I’m just asking us the reason
Share my faith on the track, I’m just exorcising demons”

He was sharing his testimony, and because he used the scientific accurate word for the male reproductive organ, some christians complained and LifeWay removed it from the shelves.

Another reason, I believe, Christians are the worst is because of everything that has been transpiring since the election began. It’s going to sound like I’m saying that Christians who voted for Trump are not Christians. Listen to me, I AM NOT SAYING THAT. Because I do not believe that your vote decides your faith. That’s between you and God. However, I do think that its the worst that there are Christians that believes in scripture, but also can stand behind Trump. I mean, can we just look at the things Trump has done and said. As much as I would love to write every single thing he has done it’s not worth it, because the reality of the situation is that you already know what they are and you still support the guy. Take something like the Executive Order on Immigrants (which right now is on hold, thanks to federal district Judge James L. Robart and later, the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, 3-0!). For the sake of this conversation, I’ll give you the ban on immigrants, okay? Let’s say we stop immigrants from coming into this country for the 90 – 120 days. Fine, they can wait for another few months and if they pass the “extreme” vetting process, they can come. But what about the refugees? Completely shutting out refugees? Are you kidding me? My dear Christian, listen to what Jesus has to say in Matthew 25: 41 – 46:

Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

If you claim to be a Christian, how can you be okay with use shutting our doors to those who we are to serve? These humans, these people who are image-bearers of our God, these people who are just as loved by God and you and I are, how can you look at them and be indifferent to their suffering. Yes, they are different than you. Yes, they believe in something different than you. Yes, they don’t speak the same language as you. But show me where in the scriptures is the asterisk that says, “serve people except if they are different.”

Another hot button issue: the pro-life/pro-choice debate. This is definitely going to anger folks (oh well). Again, let me say this in all caps: I AM NOT ASKING YOU TO BE PRO-CHOICE. But if you are claiming to be pro-life, then as one of my clever friends put it, be pro life for the whole life. We are going to have to care about the life of the baby once it is born, we are going to have to care about the life of the mother, and we are going to also have to care about the lives of those orphans who weren’t aborted, but now are living miserable lives. We can’t claim to be pro-life and keep that on a time limit. If you are going to be pro-life, you are going to also have to care about the lives of African-americans who are being killed on the streets, you are going to have to care about the lives of refugees. I think this image is pretty telling:

cykznihxgaaz6zb

Also a cool article to check out is this: What Would Really Happen if We Defunded Planned Parenthood and Ended Abortion?

Now, I can predict one of the responses being “isn’t pro-life for the whole life” the equivalent to “All Lives Matter” (a movement I’m critical of, being a supporter of Black Lives Matter) Well… no. The All Lives Matter movement was built as an opposition to the BLM movement. People saw that BLM had a momentum going and somehow came to the conclusion that only Black Lives Matter. Which isn’t true. Its just that at that point of time, we kept hearing news constantly that black lives were being lost due to police brutality. So, attention needed to be drawn to that, and thus the movement was built. All Lives was created, intentionally or not, to not only focus on black lives but others lives as well. I think Reddit user, GeekAesthete, gives the perfect analogy:

“Imagine that you’re sitting down to dinner with your family, and while everyone else gets a serving of the meal, you don’t get any. So you say, “I should get my fair share.” And as a direct response to this, your dad corrects you, saying, “Everyone should get their fair share.” Now, that’s a wonderful sentiment — Indeed, everyone should, and that was kinda your point in the first place: that you should be a part of everyone, and you should get your fair share also. However, dad’s smart-ass comment just dismissed you and didn’t solve the problem that you still haven’t gotten any! 

The problem is that the statement “I should get my fair share” had an implicit “too” at the end: “I should get my fair share, too, just like everyone else.” But your dad’s response treated your statement as though you meant “only I should get my fair share,” which clearly was not your intention. As a result, his statement that “everyone should get their fair share,” while true, only served to ignore the problem you were trying to point out.

Just like asking dad for your fair share, the phrase “black lives matter” also has an implicit “too” at the end: It’s saying that black lives should also matter. But responding to this by saying “all lives matter” is willfully going back to ignoring the problem. It’s a way of dismissing the statement by falsely suggesting that it means “only black lives matter,” when that is obviously not the case. And so saying “all lives matter” as a direct response to “black lives matter” is essentially saying that we should just go back to ignoring the problem.”

When I’m asking to be pro-life for the whole life, the foundational belief of pro-life is that all life is valuable, regardless of race, gender, etc. Pro-life philosophy didn’t come from “oh, only this color babies are being aborted, therefore all babies matter” Pro-life philosophy inherently values all life (where as, the All Lives Matter is an attempt to ignore the #BLM cause), because all lives are being threatened (at least in the fetus). This is where pro-lifers should be keeping note. The claim of pro-life should be from conception to out the womb to death.  Not just the time the life is in the womb. (Gosh, writing that was confusing, so I forgive you if it didn’t make any sense).

I’ve had conversations before about these topics and nothing I’ve said on here is new. But why am I calling out Christians? Why am I so hard on Christianity? It’s because of the hypocrisy. I can’t stand hypocrisy. And people who claim to be Christian, and heck, even true believers who are more mature and wiser, and smarter, and better than me in every conceivable way, these Christians believe in the same God that I do. They believe in the God that tells us to “love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” (John 13: 34-35). They claim to believe that yet their actions is the exact opposite. I don’t know how to express that frustration to you. Picture the person you love telling you that they hate liars, and then you find out everything that’ve told you has been a lie. Or picture someone who told you they hate animal cruelty, then turn around and kick their dog. But my frustration is more than just the Christian hypocrisy. It’s the fact that everybody can see that hypocrisy and when they witness it they are pushed away form the faith. And let’s be honest.Who can blame them? If all you see is a community of people who are living in opposition to what they believe, would you want to be a part of that? 

Look, I’m no theologian. I’m no scholar. I’m just an everyday guy making observations about the world around me. But my faith is the foundation of what makes me, me. When I see obvious problems I have to sound it out. I’m fully aware that it’s going to piss people off… but you know what they say. Can’t make an omelette without cracking a few eggs.

Peace, Love, and Chocolate!

– αß

P.S. Feel free to share this! The more people gets talking, the more lively the conversation can be!

Leave a Reply

